Home > Uncategorized > Chapter Names?

Chapter Names?

I found a command line application that allows me to update the chapter names in mp4 files! This means that once I find a good place to pull chapter names from, iDentify will be able to name your chapters! Manually tagging files will soon go the way of the dodo.

[Update] Looks like I’ll be able to use tagChimp for chapter names, and a fallback for failed lookups.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 19, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Haha, totally my idea.
    I’m guessing your talking about the libmp4v2 CLI I mentioned in my comment hmm?

    But there is a little problem, there’s like a billion tagChimp entries for every movie/tv show.
    How will you decide which ones to choose? (Locked ones seem to be very inaccurate).

    And what might your fallback be?

    • identifyapp
      January 19, 2009 at 11:13 am

      I’ve been wanting to do chapter names from the beginning, but my efforts at finding a cli tool to do so were fruitless until you named one. Though the one you named is not the one I ended up using.

      As. For tagchimp. Having myself been a moderator there pretty much since the beginning, I perrsonally know how impossible moderating it all is. However.locked entries are far more likely to contain complete,, correct information than unlocked entries. Though the tagchimp stats board lists me as having touched around 2500 entries, the actual number is much higher, as it does count entires that were deleted because theyw were pure crap. For Identify, I use 4 different search strings, and I request only one result each. I asked for locked entries that match the name, imdb, and chapter count first, then unocked entries, then locked entries without that imdb# then unlocked. Locked entries are requirewd to have chapter names, so that is why they are preferred. We try our best at tagchimp to get everything right, but unless we personally know info to be wrong, wwe approve it unless it looks wrong, wwhich they sometimes obviopusly are. Tagchimp has a ways to go, admittedly, but at least you’ll usually get chapter names with my method, right?

  2. January 19, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Oh, I see ^__^.

    Now, quick question.
    If you don’t mind me asking, what CLI did you end up using?
    Was libmp4v2 not working the way you needed it to?

    And also, it says that it can “update” chapters, does that mean it will update them ONLY if they already exist? Or does it create them if there are none? Or both?

    And also, there may be a problem with the # of chapters from your tagChimp entries and the # of chapters in the file. If they’re different numbers it could pose a problem?

    And I’ll quit working on that portion of my script, as you seem to be all ready to add it, but would mind suggestions on how I was implementing things? Mainly, the DB lookups and consistencies between the files and lookups.

    And I’m complete down with the chapter lookups from tagChimp; I just wasn’t aware of your involvement and I wanted you to be in the know. xP. & I like the way you’ve implemented the search portion. & I’ve used tagChimp for many of my encodes, and it’s very useful. ^__^

    Oh, and if you read my comment on MacUpdate, think you could just quickly answer the questions about writing the review and if your alright with the script I’m writing? Thanks ^__^

  3. identifyapp
    January 19, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    i didn’t try the one you mentioned. i dont remember the name of the tool off the top of my head; ive been replying to you from my phone.

    as for updating chapters. it will update them only if they exist. the tool is capable of insertion, but i have no way to retrieve the associated time codes.

    as for chapter numbers. i look at the file first to see how many chapters it has, then i ask tagchimp for entries that match that count.

    ill take a look at you script if you want me to comment on it.

    as for the review, ill look at that comment again tonight.

  4. January 20, 2009 at 7:21 am

    I see, well if it’s not too much trouble;
    you think you could let me know what
    the program is when you find out? Cause
    I have some testing I still wanted to do with
    m4v chapters ;P.

    And I’m not at my main computer so I don’t have the script.
    But I’ll let you know when it’s up for download ;).

  5. identifyapp
    January 20, 2009 at 9:43 am

    I’m using mp4v2 dunno if its the same as libmp4v2.. probably is. I got it here:
    http://code.google.com/p/mp4v2/

  6. January 20, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Yup, thats libmp4v2, as far as I know, the two names
    are used interchangeably. it’s the best solution there is afaik. xP.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

