Home > Uncategorized > Images Redux and Chapter Names

Images Redux and Chapter Names

I completely redid the IMP award image lookup code to be much more efficient. What I had previously was a bit sloppy, but worked. This new code is more efficient and also checks more places for the images. Thanks to Behan for helping me figure out why that stoopid regex match was registering no matches when it should have been.

I’ve got my development version of iDentify connecting to tagchimp now, and successfully retrieving chapter names for movies. The code for chapter names for tv shows is in place, but untested. I need to rip a few tv shows to test with first.

I am torn on whether or not to use tagchimp for info in the event of a failed backup. Frequently, the descriptions are nothing more than uninformative product descriptions straight from amazon. I will have to consider it some more.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 19, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Don’t do it!
    For the reason I’ve previously mentioned.
    tagChimp is still maturing; it’s just not there yet.

    But if you do put it in, at least provide an option not to use it ;P.

    • identifyapp
      January 19, 2009 at 11:17 am

      tagchimp chapter lookups are optional. as will be using it as a fallback, if implemented.

  2. January 19, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    That’s great! ^__^.
    I’m not against tagChimp at all,
    I, in fact, would like to see support for it.

    It’s just that it needed to be optional so that it
    wouldn’t brake my current script ^__^.

  3. January 19, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Oh, and it says the code for tagging TV Show chapters is in place.
    Is there a reason that it’s different from the movie chapter code?

    Although I don’t think I’ve ever seen chapter names for TVShows on Tag Chimp, but I’m sure they exist.

  4. identifyapp
    January 19, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    the code is the same, but the search strings sent to tagchimp are different, and i havent tested them yet.

    a lot of tv shows have chapter names. i know i personally entered all of them for the entire series of gilmore girls… except maybe seaon 1…

  5. January 20, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Gotcha, well that’s downright sweet.
    Can’t wait for the new version ;D.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

