Home > Uncategorized > Next version(s)

Next version(s)

I think, barring some bug fixes or tweaks to search strings and the like, this next version of iDentify will be the last one for a while. I’m busy right now trying (mostly in vain) to learn Cocoa so I can turn iDentify into a -real- full fledged app. I’ve got the general layout for the main window already worked up in Interface Builder, but I have no idea how to connect in the things I need. Most of the documentation I find on the features I need to use go so far over my head that it pisses me off. It seems nearly all the information out there assumes you have already mastered obj-c and cocoa. The newbie tutorials help a little, but there aren’t really any tutorials on some of the more complicated things I need, like how to handle drop events and the like that again, don’t assume mastery of the language.

iJoel has been helping me out testing the next version of iDentify that will be hitting macupdate at some point. Chapters seem to be working nicely for movies, but the tv show side needs some testing. Getting chapters working was a complete bitch. I ended up having to dynamically create a shell script file by my perl script so two lib files could be copied to the appropriate directory. Unfortunately, in order to copy to this directory, you need administrator access. I know having to type in your password to install these two files will turn a lot of people off of using the chapter feature, but hey, its optional.

For now I have opted -not- to use tagChimp as a fallback for media info. Seems like too much work at the moment since I’d have to put together an entire perl API module to connect to the tagchimp API. I might, however, use it as a fallback for when iDentify cant find artwork on IMPAwards… but not in this next version.

If anyone out there is familiar with obj-c and cocoa, and would like to help me build the next generation of iDentify, leave a comment. The next generation I plan to be really spiffy.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. identifyapp
    January 24, 2009 at 12:58 am

    Did I really just say spiffy?… AND use it as the last word of a nearly 400 word post. God, it must be later than I thought!

  2. Tim
    January 25, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Why would you need to build an API for tagChimp? Your connection to tagChimp is RESTful. It’s so simple my mother could do it. (Okay, that’s a lie, she couldn’t. Still, it’s really easy).

    • identifyapp
      January 25, 2009 at 9:17 am

      All tagChimp provides is the search results in xml form. I still need to parse those results. Yes.. Making the api for perl to provide basic interaction would be pretty simple. Doesn’t mean it isn’t time consuming. It would probably be easiest to make from an oo perspective, returning an object or hash pointer containing all the results, and using XML::Simple would parse the xml for me, but I still have to go through and manually assign each xml result to a variable and do error checking and the like.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

