Home > Uncategorized > iDentify 20090202

iDentify 20090202

Version 20090202:

  • More improvements to IMPAwards poster search code.
  • Fixed bug that prevents a provided image from being applied that occurs when a file has more than one period (.) in its file name

Just sent to macupdate. should be online momentarily.
I normally don’t like releasing things so close together, but this was an annoying bug .

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Loyd
    February 2, 2009 at 11:21 am

    A quirk I have noticed. The episode name field is set to what the file was named before running it through iDentify vs. what the tvdb record holds and what identify renames the file to.

    24 – S05E01.mp4 gets renamed to:

    24 – S05E01 – Day 5** 7/00 A.M.-8/00 A.M.mp4

    but the metadata field for the episode name still says “24 – S05E01”

    I run it through twice and it gets set so it shows up right in itunes..

    • identifyapp
      February 2, 2009 at 12:22 pm

      If you want the title field to match what was set in the tvdb, you need to answer “no” to the Match File Name preference. Check the faq on how to re-set the preferences. However, I should updat the titlew to match the new filename, not the old one when renaming is enabled

  2. Glark
    March 5, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I get the same episode name behaviour as Loyd above. Latest build. matchFileName was set to 0.

    So in iTunes the episode name appears as “30 Rock-s01e01” instead of “Pilot”. All the other metadata seems correct.

    • identifyapp
      March 6, 2009 at 9:14 am

      I suspect it is probably something to do with the fact the series name contains a number. Chances are the Video::Filename module is confusing the number in the series name for a season number or episode number. You sure it looked up all the metadata? If this were the case, I wouldn’t think any new metadata would be written. iDentify shouldn’t have been able to determine whether it was a tv show or movie, and would have just tagged what it was able to figure out. Also, are you sure matchFileName was set to 0 -before- running iDenfiy? iDentify loads its preferences from that file when it starts up. Changes to it after it starts running wont affect iDentify until the next time it runs.

      • identifyapp
        March 6, 2009 at 9:20 am

        You can, of course, feel free to donate at any time. I’m keeping track of those who donate, and will likely tell them a way to disable the donation prompts. The main issue right now is: 1) I can’t really find any ad providers that dont require a certain number of hits/day; which I can’t prove. And 2) Finding a way to prevent people from editing the script to disable the prompts.

        I can do the latter, but it would disable the ability for people to use it in CLI scripts.

  3. Glark
    March 6, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Thanks for the reply. It was doing it for 30 Rock and NewsRadio so I don’t think it is the number that is tripping it up. I double checked the metadata as it appears in iTunes and everything else is coming through correctly. It’s just the episode title that is off.

    Also, on the options.xml file… if I set initialize to 1 then close and restart should it be prompting me with all the preference dialog boxes again because it is not doing that. Would Identify be saving anything outside the apps folder? I figure if I could make a 100% fresh start I’d give it a try.

    Thanks!

    • identifyapp
      March 6, 2009 at 12:48 pm

      There’s your problem right there. The options.xml file is obsolete and no longer in use. Preferences are now stored in /Library/Preferences/com.arrmihardies.identify, if I remember correctly. I’m posting this from my phone, so I don’t have it in front of me. But that should be the file name, or very close.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

