Home > Uncategorized > Ad Banners? or Prompts?

Ad Banners? or Prompts?

Keeping iDentify going is time consuming. Personally, I think iDentify works pretty damn well, and has been a godsend for myself, as I’m sure it has been for others. Normally, I prefer to rely on the donations of charitable people as incentive to continue working on projects such as these. Unfortunately, I have only seen one such donation from a generous individual.

I know part or most of this is due in part to the fact that the donation link inside of iDentify connects to Paypal -inside- of the iDentify window. I am certain this puts a lot of people off. Now, I’m an honest guy and not trying to steal anyone’s money or anything, but that does not stop it from looking suspicious. Hell, if I didn’t write iDentify myself, I’d probably be suspicious too. Truth is, all you see in iDentify is just a web page generated by iDentify’s scripts and the links actually link to the real paypal page.

A far preferable method would be to have the donation link open in a new window. Unfortunately, though I have tried a great number of varying methods, simply is. not. possible. The web view that Platypus creates (Platypus is the program used that turns my iDentify perl script into a more real application) ignores all requests to open new windows. The links can’t seem to access/execute other files or programs locally that I could create to open a new browser window.

So, I’m left with two options, and I’d greatly like to hear your thoughts on the matter in the comments for this post.

Option 1. Advertisements
I could include ad banners into iDentify’s output. Pretty simple, and nothing is needed to be done on the user’s part. I’d probably include banners that give money both per view and per click. Those feeling charitable could click on a banner before closing iDentify when they are done tagging.

Option 2. Prompts for donations.
I’m not a big fan of nagware, so the way I would probably work something like this: iDentify would add a hidden preference which would essentially be a counter. Whenever this counter reaches certain thresholds, say every 25 episode or so (enough to tag an entire TV season). An alert would open up stating how many files iDentify has tagged for them, and ask if they would like to donate to the author. If they say yes, the script could then open the paypal link in their default browser. You see, the script can initiate opening a browser window, but there is not really any way for the user to initiate it. Not with the web view provided by platypus.

I suppose there is also an option 3 where I implement both of these options.

Please, tell me your thoughts.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Johan
    March 6, 2009 at 2:43 am

    I would even pay for this app, which I rarely do. I really love it. I haven’t found any alternative that does an equaly good job. iFlick.app converts to .mov container which is useless, Videodrive is just clumsy to use and doesn’t use TheTVDB.
    The only problem is that atomicparsley crashes on some of my Macs.

    Advertisements and donations are viable alternatives for me, I just wished I could run it on my Alu iMac :).

    • identifyapp
      March 6, 2009 at 12:54 pm

      By the way, what problems are yoou seeing on you alumiinum mac? I cant can’tthink of any reason why it shouldnt shouldn’twork.

  2. Johan
    March 10, 2009 at 9:50 am

    The app finds the entry but when atomicparsley tries to write the tags, its quits unexpectedly, see:

    However everything works on my white iMac and my 1 Gen MBP.

    I have tried to run as admin without success and I have tried to download a new copy of atomic parsley and change the one in the package, this definitely did not work.

  3. identifyapp
    March 10, 2009 at 9:55 am

    try downloading metaX if you dont already have it. open the package and go to thre resources folder. Take the atomicparsley64 file out and put it in the identify package.. remove the atomicparsley in identify and rename th atomicparsley64 to simply, atomicparsley. give that a try and let me know how it goes.

  4. Johan
    March 10, 2009 at 10:21 am

    No difference, MetaX however works fine.

  5. identifyapp
    March 10, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Can you try the same, but this time with the AtomicParsley32 file?

  6. Johan
    March 10, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    The AtomicParsley32 worked! Strange, I believed that 10.5.6 on the May 2008 iMac ran in 64bit mode. Anyway, I’m really happy that it works on my main system now. You can expect a small donation from a happy user in a not to distant future :). Good luck with the Cocoa programing, I really love to see the software evolve!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

