Home > Uncategorized > Snow Leopard

Snow Leopard

Okay guys. I get it. iDentify doesn’t work in Snow Leopard. As I have said at least a couple of times in comments here now, my machine is pretty much the bare minimum that can run snow leopard, and it certainly can not take advantage of any of the most important features like the 64 bit programming or openCL, just to name a few big ones. my machine is a core -1- duo imac with a radeon 9800 graphics card. Yes. Snow Leopard will install on my machine assuming the minimum requirements are correct. But honestly, how well can a system run when it only meets the minimum requirement of the OS, never mind any of the other coming software. Yes, I need to and want to upgrade to both a new machine and the new OS. However, I can not afford a new machine, and likely will not be able to any time soon. I might pick up snow leopard and install it on an external drive, but that does not allow for any guarantees that identify will run on any machine other than a core 1.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 31, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I think I am one of the only donates to this project and I have upgraded to Snow Leopard and I can only image it will improve your perform and save you at least 10Gb in space. I did not believe the hype that a operation system could be faster and smaller on old specs but it was.

    Anyways I don’t mind donating toward the snow leopard upgrade if you promise to look at the software. I’ll donate £5 about $7. Anyone else want to chip in?

  2. identifyapp
    August 31, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    I do appreciate all donations. However. the cost of Snow Leopard is negligible. Heck, at 25$ its a downright steal, and easily manageable. However, I want to be -very- clear about this… iDentify may -never- run on Snow Leopard. I won’t know until I see it. That doesn’t mean I wont make the effort. It just mean you may want to consider keeping a fully running version of Leopard around on an external hard drive just in case I am unable to get it working. From the errors that have been forwarded to me, as I recall, it looks like there are some missing perl modules. This may be an easy fix. It might not be. I can make no promises that iDentify will ever run on Snow Leopard. I was going to pick up SL today, but my local best buy was sold out. I’ll have to check the Apple store tomorrow.

  3. August 31, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    still the £5 donation should at least get you motivated to have a look see what can be done if anything.

  4. August 31, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    pays the paypal link to send the cash?

  5. August 31, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    what is the paypal link to send the cash?

  6. identifyapp
    August 31, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Use the “Donate to iDentify” link on the right hand side of this screen in the “Blogroll” box or click below. Remember, I’ll try, but I can make no promises beyond that.
    https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_xclick&business=arrmihardies%40gmail%2ecom&item_name=iDentify%20Appreciation%20Donation&item_number=l&no_shipping=0&no_note=1&tax=0&currency_code=USD

  7. NC
    September 1, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Justin,

    Thanks for all the help. I’ve used your product to help tag my entire Stargate collection. You must be inundated with people asking about Snow Leopard compatibility and complaints about how it fails. I just donated $50 to you. If it helps get a SL version done, great, if not, think of it as a thanks for all your prior work. We’ll survive and figure out another solution. I much prefer yours especially since it solves a very specific problem with a very elegant solution.

    Cheers and many thanks,

    NC

    • identifyapp
      September 1, 2009 at 10:19 pm

      Wow.. just wow. I have never received a donation anywhere near this large. I can’t even begin to convey my appreciation.
      I picked up a copy of snow leopard today. And I will try to install it tomorrow if I can break away from the wife long enough.
      No doubt, I will be -trying- to get iDentify working under snow leopard. Wether or not it is even possible remains to be seen, but I will certainly try.

  8. Andrew Fear
    September 2, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Ditto from me NC, Justin’s app has literally made my movie catalog possible. Its one of the apps I know I will use everyday.

    $50 donation from me as well Justin, I hope you can get yourself a Mac Mini and get Snow Leopard up and running.

    • identifyapp
      September 2, 2009 at 12:56 pm

      I really cant describe how much i appreciate all your generosity. I think what I am going to do is put up a progress meter that shows how much has been donated so far, and how close we are to our target. Still need to decide on a target. A Mac mini would be great. Also in dire need of a new hard drive for my File server (gotta store those vids somewhere) as my current one will be full within a week or so. So I think I’ll set the target around $1100 to cover the higher end mini, the hard drive, and tax. I’m thinking of a few incentives to encourage donation too.

      iDentify, in its current form, will always be free. (a possible future, fully cocoa based version might not be… we’ll see when and if that happens) However, I’m thinking maybe making the snow leopard compatible version available only to donators for a specified amount of time, say, either a couple weeks, month, or until the donation target has been reached. However, I also don’t want to alienate my use base. I’d like to hear your guys’ thoughts on this. I think a donation meter is a good idea, whether or not a time limited donator exclusivity period is used

  9. Thomas
    September 3, 2009 at 6:24 am

    I’m in for $25. Thanks for a wonderful app & thanks for the time you’re taking to try to keep it working.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

