Home > Uncategorized > Theres No Leopard Like Snow Leopard

Theres No Leopard Like Snow Leopard

The good news is that I Got snow leopard up and running today on my core1 mac.

The better news is that after about 3 hours of work, I managed to get iDentify working on Snow Leopard. Took a lot of reinstalling various modules. And right now it will -only- run on my system. Going to take a lot of fiddling, time, and rebooting into Leopard, and a second Snow Leopard installation to figure out exactly which modules I need to include in the iDentify package to make it work on an unmodified snow leopard installation, and still be backwards compatible with Leopard. I also have a few improvements in mind I want to add, including some methods I want to try to work around the occasional series not found issues.

In the meantime, I have put up a section on the right side of the screen here, that details how close I am to purchasing a mac mini to replace my first gen intel iMac and a new hard drive for my file server, which will be full by the end of the week. I really need both of these, and I’m think of ways to encourage people to donate towards these. If anyone has any ideas, please post them here. One possibility that has crossed my mind is to release the finished, fixed version only to those who donate until the target is reached. Comments, suggestions please.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 3, 2009 at 7:09 am

    how about having a nag in the software then needs a button press after ervery tag. Surly that would encourage people to purchase the software. Imaging have to click the nag 500 time when you tagged your colelction of stuff. That would be worth $7 to stop the nags.

    • identifyapp
      September 4, 2009 at 7:15 am

      The nag implementation was completed last night. It nags on the first file, and every file # wholly divisible by 3. Maybe I’ll up it to 4. Not sure. Current required donation to unlock is set to 5$. Maybe I will set it to 7.50 don’t think I’ll go any higher though.

  2. identifyapp
    September 3, 2009 at 7:17 am

    That is something I have also considered. But I can’t really figure out a secure implementation.

  3. identifyapp
    September 3, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Here are a few juicy bits of things I’m working on for the next version:
    A progress bar near the top of the main identify screen to show you how far along you are in the encode process without havin to scroll down. This will also be updated with the file name currently being worked on.
    I hope to be able to insert each new file at the top of the page as identify works through the queue. Again, so you don’t have to scroll down, which can be a pain since the window resets itself to the top any time the contents are updated. So instead it it showing the queued title in order, like #1 then #1 and #2 then #1, #2, #3, it will show, #1, then #2,#1, then #3,#2,#1

    There will also likely be some sort of nagging implemented to encourage donations. Finding the right balance of nagging and not being a downright pain in the ass is going to be tricky.

    • identifyapp
      September 4, 2009 at 7:20 am

      unforuntately, It appears I will not be able to make the most recent at the top as I hoped. Not when you take into account the required rewrite of a lot of the code, and my limited knowledge of CSS. However, the progress meter is done, as well as a nag implementation that i hope will be just annoying enough to allow people to use the software, yet still feel compelled to register.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

