Home > iDentify 2, New Releases > iDentify 2 x190

iDentify 2 x190

Here you go! The initial public release of iDentify 2!
Get it now on MacUpdate

Categories: iDentify 2, New Releases
  1. Mark
    April 5, 2010 at 4:09 am

    The artwork detection doesn’t seem to work as well. I just tried to tag a bunch of 30 Rock episodes and each episode got a different artwork (or none at all) and one of them ended up with the Burn After Reading movie poster as its artwork.

    • identifyapp
      April 5, 2010 at 6:46 am

      I’d like to know what file names or other information you are feeding iDentify for this so I can check out the cause of this. Luckily… you can change change before writing! (which you couldn’t do before)

      The artwork should only be different on a per-season level. And If there is a burn after reading in there somewhere… then there is either no artwork or incorrect artwork on one of the seasons.

    • arrmihardies
      April 7, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      Mark, I actually found that this is a bug. There is artwork showing up in the list that should not, And the artwork is sometimes getting overwritten by tagChimp artwork which isn’t as consistent. This was not occurring in the debug builds, so I don’t know why it is occurring in the release version, but I’ll get on top of it. you should see the consistency improve in the future versions.

      • Mark
        April 8, 2010 at 10:18 am

        Thanks!

  2. Adam
    April 5, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I am getting a bunch of crashes… tried the mentalist “the red box” it looked everything up and then when writing to the file it crashed and corrupted the file. Tried an episode of Smailleville and when I drag the mp4 to identify 2 it crashes ever time…. as soon as I drop the file in. Re installed… I then tried a Big Bang Theory and it crashes… Any ideas…? I just unzipped the file and dragged the app to the application folder for the install, by the way.

    • identifyapp
      April 5, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      I need to know exact filenames to help with this. Please provide both filenames. I can’t fix these bugs If I don’t know what data is being looked up.
      As for the corrupted file., I haven’t encountered one in about 3 months. It could have something to do with the data written to it… Perhaps even the size. I’ve had one or two reports of problems with files > 4GB that I need to look into and try to duplicate and fix. If you can email the crash reports along with the file names, it would be an even greater help.

  3. Adam
    April 6, 2010 at 2:39 am

    you mean the name of the mp4? In that case it was for the Mentalist it was named… S02E17.The Red Box.mp4… But it did not have any problems looking up the file or finding what was needed. When I told it to write the tags to the file, it started but then crashed half way through… I think it was corrupted because it was in the process of writing the tags when it crashed… The big bang theory file was called S03E05.The Creepy Candy Coating Corollary.mp4 Lets see the Smallville files that I tried was S09E01.Savior.mp4, and I think I tried Smallville – Conspiracy.mp4… the Smallville files all crashed as soon as I dragged directly to identify. the others looked everything up just fine but would crash prior to the tag write. By the way these are all encoded with eye-tv. I did a movie encoded with HandBrake [ (500) Days of Summer.m4v] and had no problem. Iam running snowlepord with the most recent update from last week.

    When I tried encoding with another program prior to Identify I could encode the eye-tv files with MetaX but someone has a re-write of MetaX called MetaZ and MetaZ would not do the eye-tv files…

    I tried something new also:
    2 CSI files… S10E15.Neverland.mp4 encoded with eye-tv… it crashed during the writing of the tags and the file was corrupted. Then S10E15.Internal Combustion.mp4 encoded with Handbrake… it indicated that it worked but the file was missing after the writing of the file. I had made copies of the files on my desktop, just in case. It doesn’t seem to like my eye-tv encoded files. Not sure about the other file. I tried Bled (2009).m4v a movie which was encoded with handbrake from a DVD. It did not pull the data but I told it that it was a movie and rescanned and then it worked. It also processed the file. No problems.

    It seems that I am having problems with files recorded with eye-tv and then encoded with eye-tv soft ware or the one file that I recorded with eye-tv and then encoded with hand brake.

    Sorry for the long post just thought that you might want to know all the situation.

    • identifyapp
      April 6, 2010 at 7:38 am

      Yeah. definitely sounds like an eye-tv related issue. I wonder if the mp4v2 tagging engine has trouble with it… or if its something in my code. I just shot you an email with info on what to email me if it happens again.

  4. Pak
    April 6, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Just tagged a bunch of files and didn’t have a problem. Great program and really like the new look compared to the old version

  5. Chris B
    April 7, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Awesome. Just downloaded and tried it. Couple issues I encountered:

    Tried one file, worked fine. (Ally McBeal – S01E19.m4). Wrote data and art. Great!
    Then:
    Loaded 5 TV episodes (Ally McBeal – S01E19.m4v through Ally McBeal – S01E23.m4v).
    It found data for the first two episodes but not the last 3.
    I didn’t realize the data was not found (red circles) until after I wrote data.
    iDentify re-wrote the files even for the files when the data couldn’t be found.
    Tried it again with 2 files, found data for first, not second. This time data was written correctly to first. (second file was also re-written, even though IDentify found no data).
    I reloaded the files where data couldn’t be found and clicked the “Rescan Item” button for each and the data was found.
    Then wrote data and all appeared in the file.
    Progress bar seems a little funky. It’s at 100% even though it is writing 1 of 4 files. (Maybe that’s the progress bar for that particular file).
    I will try with some other files, too.

    • identifyapp
      April 7, 2010 at 12:18 pm

      Well, I’d have to say the primary problem here is that troublesome strumpet Ally McBeal…. In all seriousness though, I’ll give those file names a look when I get home.
      Did those files have any existing tags? If they did the existing tags take precedence over info detected from the file name.

      The progress meter is displayed on a per file basis, not an overall progress.

    • arrmihardies
      April 7, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      I’m seeing that they aren’t always scanning now for some reason when adding too. I’ll try and figure out why.

  6. Y-Guy
    April 9, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Been using v190 for several days processing some videos and tv shows. It’s doing a very good job, there is one issue that I don’t think is totally the fault of iDentify. The issues is when a title uses a colon “:” in the name. I know this is a big issue with the TVDB. Is there anyway for iDentify to try submitting without a colon if it returns that it wasn’t able to find the title the first time? I know I’m probably pushing it, just asking.

    When working with a TV series it would be nice to be able click multiple items and change them by group – that was the one big plus of MetaX I found. Though iDentify gets things right most of the time, sometimes I like to tweak things a bit for my own needs.

    Really like the interface you’ve put together, very clean and easy to navigate. Kudos and Thank you!

    • identifyapp
      April 9, 2010 at 4:53 pm

      You can do all these things already!
      If you go to edit tags, and remove/add the colon to the show name, then click rescan, it will attempt a lookup with the new info.
      likewise, you can select multiple files and click edit. Any tags that are identical across all the files will have that info show up in the fields. Changes will be applied to all selected files. Fields with different info will have a dimmed “Multiple Values” placeholder text.

      • Y-Guy
        April 9, 2010 at 5:06 pm

        Thanks for the quick reply. I’ll have to retry the multiple option, when I did it didn’t seem to work, must be operator error.

        On the colon issue, I’ve been doing what you describe, was curious to see if it could be automated at all. Either way not a huge deal, just a though.

        Justin, what is the suggested donation amount you’d like to see for iD2?

      • identifyapp
        April 9, 2010 at 5:09 pm

        Like with iDentify 1, you can also use ** in your file name to represent a colon.
        registration keys are 9.95 you can use the link in the preferences

      • Y-Guy
        April 9, 2010 at 5:15 pm

        Thanks, donation sent. Keep up the great work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

