Home > Uncategorized > opinions: they are like onions…. not everyone likes them

opinions: they are like onions…. not everyone likes them

Okay, I’m looking for opinions on a couple things.

First: Your impressions on identify 2… both good and bad. Reviews on macupdate are greatly appreciated. If, for some reason, you would score iDentify less than 4 or 5 stars, please let me know what I can do to improve it. (preferably let me know here or via email) I can take constructive criticism very well, and greatly appreciate it. Biased bashing though, not so much. The difference being that constructive criticism tells me what I need to do to improve, while bashing isn’t helpful at all, to anyone. It doesn’t tell me or potential users what you like or dont like.

Second, an alternative registration setup just occurred to me…. micro-payments… Some people don’t want to shell out 9.95 to register… and I can appreciate that.. I haven’t had a lot of time to deeply consider this, or look into if its even possible… But the general idea is this: you create a free account somewhere, maybe a site run by me, maybe a micro payment site.. I don’t know yet, but instead of paying 9.95 to register, with the micro payment setup, users would send something like 1 cent per file tagged, perhaps deducted automatically by iDentify. This means tagging nearly 1000 files before meeting or exceeding the 9.95 registration fee. The 9.95 would still be an option, as a 1 time payment for unlimited tags.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. John
    April 25, 2010 at 3:31 am

    I only found iDentify last night, but I’m findin it amazing. The one feature I really wish it had was AppleScript support.

    Nice idea about micropayments. I probably would just pay the full fee straight away tho (you might find transaction charges would remove a lot of income for you), in fact i’d pay double/3x as much with AppleScript…

    Good job anyway! My registration fee will be on it’s way in the next few days. 🙂

    • identifyapp
      April 25, 2010 at 9:15 am

      Yeah, the transaction fees I’m finding so far would make me owe money instead of generating income. I guess they consider micro payments anything less than 10$. I guess what I need are nano payments.

  2. Mark
    April 25, 2010 at 8:25 am

    TagChimp chapters aren’t working for me. The icon in the Chapters column remains gray. I know there is chapter names on TagChimp because I checked. Thanks!

    • identifyapp
      April 25, 2010 at 9:24 am

      There are multiple possible causes of this.
      Most important is to make sure your file has the same number of -existing- chapter markers as the tagchimp entry you are looking at. iDentify can’t automatically add chapters from scratch as there are no sites I have found yet that provide the times needed for marker placement.

      Another possiblity is iDentify chose a different tagachimp record than you were looking at.

      There are so many records, nearly identical entires for the same title on tagchimp it is sometimes hard to find the right one.

      • Mark
        April 27, 2010 at 7:11 am

        Is there any way for me to check this within iDentify? I’m copying the episodes from my DVDs with Handbrake, so I don’t see how the number of chapters could differ. I looked for a log but couldn’t find one.

      • identifyapp
        April 27, 2010 at 7:16 am

        Just go to the chapters tab when editing and see what the last number is. that should be the total. FYI: handbrake sometimes randomly adds an extra chapter at the beginning or end of an encoding…

      • identifyapp
        April 27, 2010 at 7:22 am

        You should be able to. Ill look into my code after i fix this tmdb issue to see if something I did could have caused it too.

      • Mark
        April 27, 2010 at 7:20 am

        OK, thanks. Now to figure out if I can fix the files without re-ripping them all…

      • Mark
        April 27, 2010 at 2:31 pm

        So I checked and the number of chapters match. The TagChimp entry has 5 chapters, as does my file: https://www.tagchimp.com/tc/2309/

      • Mark
        April 27, 2010 at 2:32 pm

        I should clarify, this isn’t just one file…it’s been every Futurama episode I’ve ripped, and that’s so far all of season 1, season 2, and part of season 3.

  3. April 25, 2010 at 11:27 am

    The one thing that I really wish iDentify supported was other file formats. I have a lot of TV shows that are in .avi format that I need renamed in the file name. For example family.guy.s03e06.LOL.HDTV.avi needs to be renamed family guy S03E06

    • identifyapp
      April 25, 2010 at 11:36 am

      the avi container can not contain tags, so unfortunately, iDentify will never support it.

      • April 29, 2010 at 9:28 pm

        I don’t want to take advantage of the meta data tagging. I want to take advantage of the file name renaming. If you just allow that I would be soooo happy and pay for the app immediately

      • identifyapp
        April 29, 2010 at 11:26 pm

        as long as they are mp4 files, you can turn off the lookup, and turn off optimize. That will make the tagging phase nearly instantaneous, and not do any lookups. It’ll basically just instantly rewrite any existing tags. iDentify will likely never support files other than mp4/m4v

  4. Tim
    April 27, 2010 at 5:45 am

    Bugs
    1. Minor – In Preferences, the text description for “Use iTunes friendly extension” has incorrect spelling of “Recommended”.

    Feature Requests
    1. Combination of Season and Episode Number is not being generated from the individual Season and Episode Number fields.
    2. Episodic TV shows that use the episode date are not able to handle lookups without manual intervention. Examples are daily series like “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” and “The Colbert Report”.
    3. Fuzzy logic to use when doing lookups. Only exact matches seem to work. Perhaps when multiple possibilities are found, the application could present a list of choices. Also would be nice to have fixed mappings that could be defined (e.g. “The Daily Show” could be defined to mean “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart”)
    4. Major Request – Subtitle lookups and adding a subtitle stream from some of the major subtitle repositories.

  5. identifyapp
    April 27, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Tim: Check my acknowledgements page and scroll down. The only thing not there is subtitles… and the episodic bit… not sure how I’ll handle that…. I don’t think TVDB can look up by date, so I don’t think there is much I can do.

  6. Mark
    May 1, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Movie renaming is not working for me. I changed the format to ().m4v but it’s still writing the default format, which uses [] and includes the IMDB code.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

